What is Part M or more correctly - EASA Part M, and what is the purpose of EASA Part M?

Posted by on in Regulatory
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 34883

Part M concerns specifically the continuing airworthiness of aircraft and aeronautical products, parts and appliances together with the approval of organizations and personnel involved in these tasks.
First to understand that EASA the abbreviation for European Aviation Safety Agency is the governing agency for all European regulations in the environment of Operations, Maintenance, Airports, Air Traffic Control and Air Navigation.
In 2002 empowered by the European Commission Regulation EC 1592/2002, EASA created European Commission Regulation EC No. 2042/2003 which together with several amendments provided us with EASA Part M of this regulation. Specifying airworthiness requirements for EU based carriers and owners of private aircraft in regard to the obligation to manage continuing airworthiness. This was further consolidated in 2014 with introduction of the updated regulation 1321/2014 which together with further amendments is current today (Jun 2016).

EASA creates a notice of proposed amendment to an existing requirement or a new requirement which after approval is issued as a “Commission Regulation”. After a period of transition the applicable law (Implementing Rule) together with the appropriate Acceptable Means of Compliance becomes a legal requirement in all member states.
Regulation 1321/2014 consists of four parts:
1. EASA Part M – Continuing Airworthiness Requirements
2. EASA Part 145 – Maintenance Organization Approvals
3. EASA Part 66 – Certifying Staff
4. EASA Part 147 – Technical Training Organizations and Requirements
Part M is presented as two sections. Section A (called the “Technical Requirements” is applicable to industry) and Section B (“Procedure for Competent Authorities” is applicable to the Regulator – Competent authority).
Section A is subdivided into the following sections:
- Subpart A – General
- Subpart B – Accountability
- Subpart C – Continuing Airworthiness
- Subpart D – Maintenance Standards 
- Subpart E – Components 
- Subpart F – Maintenance Organization 
- Subpart G – Continuing Airworthiness Management Organization 
- Subpart H – Certificate of Release to Service – CRS 
- Subpart I – Airworthiness Review Certificate

Each Part M organization nominates a Continuing Airworthiness Manager (CAM) who is responsible for the Continuing Airworthiness Management Organization (CAMO) following the Regulatory requirements described in Part M as well as the procedures which are contained in the Continuing Airworthiness Management Exposition.

The essential business areas reporting to the CAM are Maintenance Planning, Technical Records and Engineering & Reliability.
Typical duties include the management of the Maintenance due on the aircraft, as well as Airworthiness Directives AD’s and Repairs. Together with life limited parts and the service bulletin status of the aircraft.
Sofema Aviation Services works closely with aviation industry to design and deliver comprehensive online training courses that are relevant and responsive to the expectations of the Organizations, at minimum cost.

The focus of Sofema Training is to share the understanding regarding the role of regulatory compliance which is in fact minimum compliance. Our goal is to share that regulatory compliance is not in itself a challenge rather it presents opportunities which allows the organization to successfully optimize and grow the business.
With 45 years of Commercial Experience behind Sofema Aviation Services, we look through the “Organizations” Eyes with specific focus on the Practical interpretation of the regulations.

All Part M related trainings you can find Here. For additional questions please email us at office@sassofia.com or online@sassofia.com

Last modified on
Tagged in: CAM CAMO EASA Part M