Introduction to EASA Part 147 & EASA Part 66

Posted by on in Regulatory
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 221

Sofema Online (SOL) takes a high level look at EASA Part 147 & Part 66


Commission Regulation (EC) No 1321/2014 is a regulatory framework established by the European Union to ensure a high level of civil aviation safety in Europe, which is managed by the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA).

This regulation encompasses several parts, including Part-66 (annex 3) and Part-147 (annex 4), which are specifically related to aircraft maintenance training organizations and aircraft maintenance licensing.

Both parts are integral to the overall framework that governs aircraft maintenance safety standards in Europe, ensuring that individuals and organizations involved in maintenance activities meet stringent training and operational standards. These regulations help to maintain a high level of safety in European aviation by ensuring that aircraft are serviced by qualified personnel and that training organizations operate at the highest level of quality and compliance.

EASA Part-66:

>> Part-66 defines the requirements for the certification of aircraft maintenance engineers.

>> It outlines the conditions under which a maintenance engineer can obtain a license, the different categories of licenses available, and the privileges granted by each license.

>> It requires individuals to complete relevant training (typically through a Part-147 organization), have a certain amount of practical experience, and pass specific examinations to demonstrate their competence in maintaining different types of aircraft and components.

EASA Part-147:

>> This part sets the requirements for the approval of maintenance training organizations and the training programs they offer.

>> It outlines the standards for delivering training, conducting examinations, and issuing certificates of recognition to individuals who complete training courses.

>> Part-147 organizations are responsible for training aircraft maintenance engineers in line with EASA regulations to ensure they have the necessary knowledge and skills to perform maintenance tasks safely and effectively.

What Does EASA Part 147 Consist of?

EASA Part-147 establishes the regulatory framework for Maintenance Training Organizations (MTOs) that are responsible for delivering training and examination services in the field of aircraft maintenance. Here are some key aspects concerning the roles, responsibilities, and specific parts of EASA Part-147:

MTO Approval: Organizations seeking to become MTOs must obtain Part-147 approval from EASA or the relevant National Aviation Authority.

This involves demonstrating compliance with the requirements of Part-147 in terms of staff qualifications, training facilities, equipment, and teaching materials.

Training Programs: Part-147 specifies the content and structure of training programs for aircraft maintenance.

These programs must align with the EASA Part-66 syllabus for the corresponding license category and level.

Training programs are typically modular and cover both theoretical knowledge and practical skills.


Theoretical and Practical Training: MTOs are responsible for delivering both theoretical and practical training.

Theoretical training typically includes classroom or online lectures, while practical training involves hands-on work with aircraft, components, and maintenance tools, often conducted in workshops or on actual aircraft.

Examinations and Assessments: After completing the training, students are assessed through formal examinations to evaluate their understanding and proficiency. Part-147 governs the conduct, supervision, and security of these examinations, ensuring their integrity and compliance with the syllabus.

Certification of Recognition: Upon successful completion of training modules and examinations, students are awarded Certificates of Recognition for the relevant modules.

These certificates are a prerequisite for obtaining a Part-66 aircraft maintenance license.

Quality System: Part-147 requires MTOs to implement and maintain a quality system. This system includes regular audits and monitoring to ensure continuous compliance with the regulation and to facilitate improvements in the training process.

Instructors and Examiners: The regulation sets the standards for instructors and examiners, including their qualifications, experience, and ongoing professional development.

Instructors must have the appropriate technical knowledge and teaching skills, while examiners must be impartial and have a deep understanding of the examination material.

Record Keeping: MTOs must maintain comprehensive records of all training and examinations conducted, as well as records of all students, instructors, and examiners.

These records are essential for audit purposes and for validating the training received by students.

Accountability and Oversight: Part-147 MTOs are accountable for ensuring that their training programs and operations continue to meet EASA standards.

This involves regular audits by the relevant authorities and may include unannounced inspections to verify compliance.

Continuous Improvement: MTOs are expected to engage in continuous improvement of their training programs.

This includes updating courses to reflect changes in technology, regulations, and industry best practices.

Next Steps

Sofema Aviation Services (SAS) and Sofema Online (SOL)  provides Classroom, Webinar and Online Training related to EASA Part 147 and Part 66 Regulatory Requirements – Please see the websites or email



Last modified on