Blog posts tagged in Service

Posted by on in Regulatory

Sofema Online (SOL) considers best practices and procedures related to Aircraft Lavatory Servicing.


Aircraft toilet servicing is a vital aspect of aircraft maintenance. Ensuring that the vacuum toilet system operates flawlessly is essential for the well-being and comfort of passengers as well as health and sanitation.

By adhering to these health and safety standards, airlines and maintenance providers can ensure the well-being of their employees, passengers, and the environment

Last modified on

Sofema Online (SOL) considers the different roles of SB,s & AD,s

Airworthiness Directives

Airworthiness Directives (ADs) are legally enforceable rules issued by the Regulatory Authority of the Type Certificate Holder, (TCH) Supplemental Type Certificate Holder (STCH) or Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) (may also be issued by other Regulatory Authorities).

Last modified on
Hits: 13020

Who can issue FAA Form 8130-3 as approval for return to service?

Air agencies certificated under Part 145, or the holder of a U.S. air carrier certificate operating under Part 121 or Part 135, with an approved continued airworthiness maintenance program may issue an FAA Form 8130-3 for approval for return to service for a product or article maintained or altered under Part 43.

A Production Approval Holder (PAH) may issue an FAA Form 8130-3 for approval for return to service after rebuilding, altering, or inspecting its product/article in accordance with §§ 43.3(j) and 43.7(d). The use of FAA Form 8130-3 for this purpose is optional, but the FAA recommends its use. This will help aviation authorities and industry to ensure complete traceability and ease the movement of products and articles through the aviation system.

Last modified on

The owner of the Type Certificate for the Aircraft, Engine or Supplemental Type Certificate (STC) has an obligation to ensure the continuity of the continuing airworthiness of the product.

The component Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) with a Technical Standing Order (TSO) or European Technical Standing Order (ETSO).

The Part manufacturer through Parts Manufacturing Approval (PMA) or European Parts Approval (EPA) also has the obligation to maintain continuing airworthiness oversight.

The service bulletin is the delivery vehicle by which the “owner” of the product maintains the integrity of the continuing airworthiness of the component, however not all suggested actions are mandatory, some may be related to reliability still others related to cosmetic improvements.

Last modified on

A service-level agreement (SLA) relates to a particular element, aspect or range of activities where a service is formally defined in a written form.

In particular the different aspects of the service or relationship - scope, quality, responsibilities - are agreed between the service provider and the service user. Service Level Agreements may be between two or more parties where one is the customer and the others are service providers.

The purpose is to support the most efficient working practices and to generate savings in the business process.
Note that - SLA’s are not normally bound by legal agreement (means contracts) such contracts between the service provider and other third parties may in fact sometimes be (incorrectly) called SLAs - Why? - Because the level of service has been set by the (principal) customer, (means it is a based not on a SLA but rather on a business requirement) - so it is an instruction!

Last modified on