Blog posts tagged in Federal Aviation Administration

Sofema Online (SOL) considers the role of Certification Maintenance.

Discuss the History of Certification Maintenance Requirements (CMR) related to FAA and EASA type certification of aircraft, and to consider the methodology and challenges related System Safety Assessment Process.


The Certification Maintenance Requirements (CMR) are regulations established by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) in the United States and the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) in Europe.

The concept of CMRs evolved over time to ensure that certified aircraft maintain their airworthiness throughout their operational life.

The European Union Aviation Safety Agency (formerly the Joint Aviation Authorities) was established in 2002 to harmonize aviation regulations across Europe. EASA adopted the CMR concept as part of its certification process.

Last modified on

Accountable Directorate:

The aircraft certification directorate with final authority, accountability, and responsibility for type certification programs, the development of airworthiness standards, and development and standardization of technical policy for an assigned product and a specific part of Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (14 CFR).

Aircraft Certification Office (ACO):

The aircraft certification directorate’s engineering operational element. This office administers and secures compliance with agency regulations, programs, standards, and procedures governing the type design of aircraft, aircraft engines, or propellers. The term “ACO” also refers to the Engine Certification Office (ECO), the Rotorcraft Certification Office (RCO) and the Special Certification Office (SCO), and the Military Certification Office (MCO).

Last modified on